UAV Regulations

Aviation authorities around the world are integrating unmanned aircraft into civilian airspace, and each jurisdiction has its own rules and regulations. Although the application process can seem daunting, Aeryon Labs can help get you in-the-air with your Aeryon sUAS as soon as possible. We can provide guidance and information for a variety of applications and grants that will help you understand the regulations, submission requirements and approval process.

If you have questions about the information presented here, require additional information, or are interested in geographies not listed please contact us to discuss your specific needs.


Before you are permitted to operate sUAS in Canada, you must obtain a Special Flight Operations Certificate (SFOC). Once granted, the operation of the UAS will be subject to the rules set by Transport Canada. Depending on your industry and intended use of the system, different rules will apply. Restrictions may include locations, time of day, and other operating and safety parameters. Some of the information required to apply for a SFOC includes:

    • The name, address, and where applicable, the telephone number and facsimile number of the applicant;
    • The name, address, and where applicable the telephone number and facsimile number of the person designated by the applicant to have operational control over the operation (Operation Manager);
    • Method by which the Operation Manager may be contacted directly during operation;
    • The type and purpose of the operation;
    • The dates, alternate dates and times of the proposed operation;
    • A complete description, including all pertinent flight data on the aircraft to be flown

Additional requirements for the SFOC application process, as well as information on where to send the application can be found here, or contact us to discuss your specific requirements.

United States

In order to operate sUAS in the USA, you must acquire a Certificate of Authorization (COA) through the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). Currently, these certificates are only granted to federal, state and local government agencies, and restrict flying to specified areas. While the requirements of each COA will be specific to the application, typically they include:

    • Flights below 400 ft. AGL
    • Daytime operation in Visual Flight Rules (VFR)
    • Range limited to Visual Line of Sight (VLOS)
    • Greater than 5 miles from an airport

It is important to note, however, that the FAA is undertaking an initiative to accelerate the approval process for public safety agencies, and broaden access to civilian organizations for a variety of commercial, industrial, and other applications. Read more about the FAA’s latest announcement. Click here for general information regarding Aviation Regulations in the United States, or contact us to discuss your specific application.